Out Campaigning with Robin Millar in Arfon

Me, and members of Robins team; Jonathan his Agent, Laura and Hannah who helped out with the day's canvassing, standing in front of the Bangor Harbour with the mountains of Snowdonia in the background. (Robin's not in the picture as he took it!)

Yesterday, as I was attending a conference on Rural Access to Care Services today and had to stay last night in Shrewsbury as it was not possible to make the start of the conference by train on the day, I had the bright idea that rather than travel early afternoon I would get up early and travel on a bit further to see an old friend of mine, Robin Millar. I know Robin from our campaigning in West Suffolk and the hard work he has put into his adopted home and community of Newmarket and Forest Heath, both a Mayor and a senior Councillor on Forest Heath District Council.

Robin is standing in his home town of Bangor, which is part of the new constituency of Arfon, Arfon has been created from two half’s of existing seats and has the cities of Bangor and Camargon at it’s heart. If you want to look at it on a map goes to North Wales and look for the coast line and Mountains that are opposite Anglesey and you have the Constituency.

Robin is from Bangor and his family has a long history of Welsh Conservatism as Robin’s Father was the Local Bangor Conservative Association Chairman.

Having had the briefest look at the Map I promising I would get up early the previous day and travel on a bit, Robin met me at the Bangor Train station which is actually two and a half hours further from on from Shrewsbury, in total a mere six hour journey from home.

Just before we went campaigning, Robin gave a me a whistle stop tour of Bangor and part of the Constituency and talked about it’s people, history and the challenges it faces. What a lovely place, sort of reminds of Cornwall 20 years ago before the London set found it and it got the ‘Chelsea on-Sea’ make-over.

We then when to the pier and met up with a young team of Jonathan, Robin’s agent, Laura and Hannah who came along to help.

So we set off and the first door I knocked at Sheila’s door, whom I discovered, when I asked did she vote and did she vote Conservative? She said ‘of course I do, Robin was born next door!’ and she went on to say to Robin that she would see him later at the Conservative meeting that evening, talk about on his home patch!

Next we went down some slate steps there is a lot of slate about as we were actually campaigning in the area around the original docks that once was where Welsh Slate was transported around the world from and met Mrs Bridgeworth resplendent in Hat and Green Cape, who proudly is 90 year old on the 8th of May and she was just popping home to see her home as she was being supported to visit her home as she was currently being in a care home in a village near Bangor, she was concerned about her home being empty whilst she was temporarily in the care home, I said do you want to meet Robin and called him over, she announced herself as ‘I’m Church and Conservative!’ Robin replied ‘me too Church and Conservative!’ She then explained to him why she was home and he promised to talk with the Community Police Officer to keep an eye on her home as they past from time to time.

As we went door to door, I rang one bell and from a balcony two stories above a voice boomed out YES WHAT DO YOU WANT, so I spun round peered up and said ‘I am out with Robin Millar, your Conservative Candidate in the forthcoming general election, can we count on your vote! Back came the response from on high ‘I HAVE ALWAYS VOTED LIBERAL, WAS A LIBERAL COUNCILLOR, AND ALWAYS WILL’ I cheekily called back ‘NEVER MIND!’ and beat a hasty retreat before a bucket of water came my way!

As we turned a corner we bumped into Plaid Cymru and competed down a street called ‘Fford Garth Uscaf’ at the end of which I got a wake up call in my thinking, a lady opened the door and I started up my words ‘Hello, I am out today with……….’ to which she replied ‘Oh no dear I shall be voting for Labour, poor Gordon has not been in the job long’ to which I replied, ‘well he was Chancellor for 11 years’ back came the reply ‘no dear it’s a world recession it’s not his fault’, opened jawed I thanked her for her time and moved on.

I know Robin was slightly surprised to see them as he confirmed to me that in his daily canvassing it was the first time he has seen them out!

Later back at the hotel in Shrewsbury, I googled Plaid Cymru and their candidate and frankly I simply could not work out why anyone would vote for them in Westminster election. What a place such as Arfon needs it a strong voice at Westminster, someone who knows how the Westminster village work and came be a strong voice in Government for Arfon and that’s Robin Millar!

If you can get to Arfon I would be pleased to share a car journey with you and I know Robin would appreciate the support from his adopted home for his native home.

Good Luck Robin, it’s about time Arfon has a strong voice in Westminster.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

