Full Name, capital L and capital D

Well there we go, a Conservative/Liberal Democrat coalition government, what an amazing couple of days of high political drama, but at least Gordon Brown is out and they can now get on with opening up the books and seeing the extent of the damage.

I bet it’s not long before we start to hear the real depth of the problems and the painful measures that are going to be needed to sort it out, I suspect the words will be carefully chosen not to spook the markets as to the ‘depth of the hole’ we’re in but tell them enough that they have confidence that there is a strategy to get us out of it.

Like most people I don’t give a fig for the markets but their confidence is vital if the banks are going to be able to lend and our businesses get the capital then need to expand, recruit and thus pull this county out of the nose dive.

Maybe, just maybe, all those people who have been conned by new labour that the recession is the result of global problems and ‘nothing to do with me gov’, will wise up. I am simply staggered that so may people could still vote labour after this mess.

On Monday my opinion was kindly gauged by a couple of people and I said form the government and strike whatever deal is needed to do it, so I sort of thought then that everything was still to play for.

Yesterday I was in Endeavour House and between meetings, on the only TV they have in the place, in the media team’s section, watched as the afternoons events unfolded, and had the pleasure to see Brown resignation speech but missed Cameron’s historic entrance to No.10 as I was at two Parish Council meetings last night, but caught up with it all on the News at 10 and then Newsnight.

I send an email this morning to a conservative colleague and typed  in full ‘Liberal Democrats’ for the first time, usually I just put ‘libs’ and added (you will note for the first time I have used their full name and have put a capital L and capital D, this does not come easily!).

Having seen the document now it really is a substantial body of work, which answers and deals with the real tough stuff and differences between the two parties, I am not sure about the 55% rule and if they can get this through but hey in Scotland its two thirds, so I sort of get the point and it does give the idea of a fixed term a bit more of a chance of holding.

I was told today by a Liberal Democrat, there I go again, friend of mine that not all of their MP’s voted in favour of the deal last night and one of them is quite a big name.

I thought the best headline in the papers today goes to The Mirror, not my read of choice but a great headline, in blue ‘CON’, space, then in yellow ‘DEM’ and on the next line ‘NATION’, excellent, very funny!

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

