Day out at the Suffolk Show

Yesterday I had a chance to go along and see the excellent Suffolk County Council Stand at the Suffolk Show held at Trinity Park, Ipswich, after a couple of hours on the stand I then have a stroll around seeing some of the other great stands and pausing to watch the show ring displays and demonstrations, all the while enjoying the fine weather.

Getting there, much to some people surprise, I took bus laid on by Suffolk County Council from the London Road ‘Park and Ride’, this follows from the comments last year by Cllr. Rosie Clarke who said how easy it was and indeed it is; for a modest £2 I got to sit on a great coach and watch as it passed all those cars queuing to get into the show car parks. I can’t imagine why more people don’t get to the show this way; it really was very easy and hassle free.

The theme for this year’s SCC stand was Building Stronger Communities in Suffolk, showcasing our work and that of other organisations to make communities throughout Suffolk stronger and more vibrant places to live.

It was really great to see 15 other organisations – voluntary groups, charities and partners join the County Councils stand to show visitors how we are working together to improve the quality of life in the county.

It was also great to see so many people taking part in a wide range of activities for all ages, as well as getting advice, watching demonstrations, dancers and musicians on the stage, visiting one of the counties excellent library vans which this year was parked at the front of the stand rather than behind the marquee like last year, good to see someone was listening to quite a few of us, not to mention looking at the big shiny new fire engine or many like me simply buying a cup of tea from the county catering van and enjoying the sunshine.

In the morning Mark Murphy from BBC Radio Suffolk helped Cllr. Rosie Clarke, who is the lead councillor for stronger communities launch Trading Standards new ‘Trusted Trader’ scheme. This scheme aims to give people protection from disreputable traders and gives businesses more incentive to provide good service at a competitive price, something I know from my election campaigning last year was a big concern of older people and hopefully the new service can make getting things fixed a less worrying thing to do.

I really liked the Big Map of Suffolk where visitors could put their community facilities on the map to tell others what’s going on in their area, or tell us what makes a good and strong community – anything from a community centre, to a post office, pub or play areas, or perhaps even their friends, family or next-door neighbours.

As the end of the day, it’s my tradition to pick up a bottle of the Show winning wine before heading home to share it with Lisa, and I am pleased to say it was delicious and delicate white, well done to Charles and his team at Ickworth House keep up the good work!

Each time I visit the show I am struck by what a diverse show it really is, I suspect some of those I talk to who have never been think it’s all farming and nothing else, oh boy how wrong they are, it really is a celebration of all things Suffolk and a great day out!

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

