Carers – a weekend in Leeds

Having just got back from Bournemouth I knew I was pushing my luck with the family by heading of to another Conference in Leeds but it was an international gathering to discuss different strategies from around the world on being a Carer and how organisations help and support them.

Suffolk has 98,000 people who care for someone in some capacity and to say they do an important job would be the understatement of the year.

The conference was quite amazing and I have never learned so much in such an intense period of time as I did over two and a half days in Leeds.

At the conference I talked with other delegates about the Suffolk Circle and how it would fit in with and develop some of the ideas being put forward.

I think the closing address by Heinz Wolff Emeritus Professor of Bioengineering at Brunel University could be a turning point in the debate about care and I shall do what little I can to see his thoughts turned into practice that may one day turned into custom remember the words ‘care4care’ could be quite something one day.

I also heard a number of people talk about the amazing work of Suffolk Family Carers and how this Charity has a national reputation of support, I am pleased at the way the county council does and will continue to work with them to provide services.

Both the Suffolk Circle and Suffolk Family Carers are real practical examples of how we want the New Strategic Direction to develop to deliver, as we face the sort of cuts that our Government need us to make in order for the county to balance its books.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

