Judith Hawshaw MBE

This morning I attended the sad funeral of Judith Hawkshaw MBE and there was hardly a dry eye amongst the hundreds who turned out on a rainy morning in Ipswich to mark the sad passing of such a strong character.

I was asked to say a few words for her obituary and said “Judith’s commitment to Suffolk’s Very Sheltered Housing was truly outstanding; our job now is to continue her work for the good of the people in Suffolk and in honour of a remarkable Lady” and continue her work we will.As a fellow Councillor said to me “She seemed to be able to make things happen when everyone else made out they couldn’t be done.”The very sheltered housing that she was so proud of are a testimony to her practical determination to make thing happen and not just be talked about.It’s true to say that the current residents enjoying the very Shelter housing in Suffolk due so because of her no nonsense “say yes” approach to everyone in the statutory, private, voluntary and independent sectors!I recall when she was showing me around the Exning Court development in Exning that really “everything I do is based on what my Mum would like”, it struck me then and has stayed with me that that’s not a bad test, as you sit in a meeting looking at this statistic here a flow chart there and every where percentages of this and that.Actually thinking about what your own mum would understand and want to see is not a bad rule of thumb at all; for all the complexity it’s possible to get bogged down in it’s actually all about people and how they want to be serviced and treated.I know I speak for all those who worked with her that she will be very sadly missed and that her Mum and family should be very proud of her.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

