Oldham East and Saddleworth By-Election

 

I was surprised to read the recriminations that seem to be flying about the result of the by-election on Thursday, to read some of it you would think the conservatives has lost a seat; we came third last year and surprise surprise we came third again! 

I have read the comments that the Conservatives took one for the team to prop up the Liberals but I simply don’t see that, the campaign on the ground is not just about the campaign being run by CCHQ it is in large part down to the number of party faithful you can get it to turn out hundreds of miles away. From what I could see the call went out over the party networks just the same as before but of course fewer people were willing to make the effort, there was real important purpose to victories in Crewe and Nantwich and Norwich North and that was not lost on the party activists, this by-election was simply not the same, yes all elections are important but realistically you were never going to get the same response as before the election, that is a simply fact of life.

It also seems to me no party had a great deal to celebrate the turnout was really disappointing and if you are a political nerd like me this is always disappointing but there was nothing surprising in that go back over the years and the first few after a general election are usually low, and for Ed Miliband to claim that voters sent “a clear message” the government should “think again” against the cuts is utter rubbish, Labour secured a solid majority not a land slide in a seat which no one could seriously have expected a different result.

Equally, we did not do so well, but to say the conservative vote collapsed is to ignore a couple of blindingly obvious points, firstly the turn out was terrible and who do people think stayed at home, conservatives of course; and secondly we are now in power and it seems to me that does make a difference, the electoral facts are quite simply it’s over 30 years since the party in power took a seat from the opposition in a by-election (Mitcham and Morden in 1982)!

The next by-election is Barnsley Central following the disgrace of Labour’s Eric Illsley; given that my partner, Lisa’s, family are from Barnsley and we spend a fair bit of time there, I will be trying to arrange a visit to her mums and to go out canvassing for the party.

Now, knowing Barnsley as I do, I suspect wearing a blue rosette could be interesting!, if the disgruntled are moaning about Oldham East and Saddleworth I have a feeling that Barnsley is not going to offer up much comfort!

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

