Lakenheath Library under threat

Matthew Hancock MP joins me to discuss the future for our local Library and who should be there returning a book but my predecessor as Council Councillor Mary Crane, with her husband Roger a former District Councillor

In this Blog and in articles I write for the local Parish Magazines I have talked about the Comprehensive Spending revue and the 28% cuts to the county council’s overall funding. I have also talked about the incredibly difficult decisions and indeed the sleepless nights many of the officers and Councillors have had as we have wrestled with the implications and where we are going to have to make cuts.

It’s fair to say that cuts are never ever going to be popular but as we worked through the options before us, our priority has been to protect the vulnerable in our communities and seek to make savings that do not hurt vital services.

The county council will fundamentally change; for that is what 28% less money means, a fundamental change and in many respects what we have come to expect, what we have come to enjoy, is no longer financially available to us.

On Tuesday the cuts have finally arrive on Lakenheath’s doorstep as it was announced that our great little library was under threat of closure unless the local community steps up and takes it over.

Of course I knew about this as I am in the cabinet of Suffolk and voted to for the strategy and consultation asking local communities to step forward to save our libraries, and I certainly did have a sleepless night thinking about the impact of this cut, but as I have said in print and on the radio the £43M saving we are going to have to make in the next year are all difficult choices.

Tuesday afternoon I visited Chris, our librarian to discuss this devastating news with him and we chatted through what I was going to do.

Tuesday night I emailed the Parish Council and asked for it to be discussed at the next meeting and details of where Parish Councillors could find all the information they needed ahead of that debate.

Wednesday morning I put a call into Matthew Hancock’s office and it was great that he agreed to visit the library with me today and to hear for himself the scale of the challenge before us. Just retruning a book was my predeccor Mary Crane and her husband Roger,a former District Councillor; both may have retired from the wider scene but are very active in our local Communitya nd it was good to have their intial thoughts as we discussed the future.

I told them that in addition to the Parish Council meeting I was arranging a Public meeting in mid-February to discuss our, as a community, response to the consultation and what we collectively might be able to come up with do to save the library and I will post those details here on my blog just as soon as I have them.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

