Adult Safeguarding Conference

Today I was in London for the Annual LGA conference on Adult Safeguarding, a serious issue and one we all need to occasionally think about as we visit with people and discuss the impact of cuts on our services.

Just before the conference I meet with James Mumford from the Centre for Social Justice who is writing a report for the Centre on strategies to address our aging population and the current state of the services available as we get older. Whilst it meant getting up far too early and a rather delayed journey courtesy of Network rail. James and I have a good hour and a half to chat about the state of services in general and the approach I am trying to see us drive forward in Suffolk. We agreed that eh would be coming to Suffolk to hear more from Officers on Suffolk Flexicare and to show him a round a couple of our Extra care housing scheme’s. I could wax-lyrical on extra care and its pivotal role in the delivery of housing for our aging population but you’d never have the time to scroll all the way through it and I am reminded one of my New Year’s resolutions was to make my blogs shorter!

Back to the Conference of the various excellent speakers the one I found most interesting was Zoe Lodrick MSc. BA Hons (1st). UKCP, wow!. Zoe is a UKCP Registered Psychotherapist and an experienced Trainer and Consultant. Her back ground includes over 14 years experience working at Portsmouth Area Rape Crisis Service (PARCS) providing psychotherapy to women and men who had experienced rape, sexual assault and/or childhood sexual abuse; and she provides training and consultation to professionals who work with victims/survivors of sexualised traumas (whether therapeutically or within the criminal justice system).

Her presentation was also about why people in abusive relationships often stay with their abusive partner, something I suppose I never really understood and the challenges that presents from a safeguarding point of view; she also went into aspects of people’s behaviour and responses when faced with a perceived threat (especially sexual threat). you know occasionally you sit, listen and realise you haven’t got a clue on a subject and really learn something new, of course that is why you take the time to go beyond the simply definition of a role and try to learn more. but…….!

Someone one told me the key thing with youth is to capture it before it realises it does not know everything; what I know is that as I get older I realise I know about less and less about more and more.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

