How to make a Decision

On Saturday I went to Warwick University to attend a really interesting  2 day course, which caught my eye, called ‘Approaches to Decision Making’. A Saturday and Sunday is a bit above and beyond but the course looked really interesting so I thought I would go, and I am glad I did.

The course started at 9:30 am but rather than stay two nights away from home I decided to get up early and get there in the morning, so I left the house at 6:00am and travelled to Ely to catch the train, Ely station is not a nice place when it’s cold and blowy and this morning was no exception!

The course was hosted by the Local Government Improvement and Development the LGID which to be fair rolls off the tongue better than its previous name IDeA, on the Warwick University Campus.

The Master Class was hosted by Pascoe Sawyer who did an excellent job and even reacquainted me with my Myers Briggs scoring and how that had an influence on my personal decision making style both individually and as a par of a wider group. Next up was James Sales from Motivational Maps, Google him and you find his web site which is rather interesting. During the course of the day James made a very strong opening impression with his presentation on group thinking in a group verses an individual very interesting indeed. Later in the day James introduced us to perhaps one of the simplest yet most powerful decision making tool in the world Edward De Bono’s Six Hat thinking, simple yet very powerful.

After a break we had a presentation from Dale Burch, the Deputy Leader of Bracknell Forest on Localism and Accountability which gave a contextualisation to the new decision making forums we would soon all be in.

In the grave yard shift after lunch was Dr. Liz Richardson from the Institute for Political and Economic Governance, Liz talked about communities and Councils and the nature of how they interact and how to solve the impasses that almost immediately appear when a Council proposes something and the anti-action groups form up. She articulated a process that I shall be trying out in a couple of week’s time and if I can get the audience to participate that it will be really interesting to see the results of what she explained to us.

The following morning we meet with Ian Fifield from Local Government Futures and we looked at Local Government Finance and the role of critical thinking in looking at the budget and Medium Term Financial Plan then a really interesting team exercise before we finished at Lunchtime, then train and home.

My thanks goes to Aggie, Alan, Faye, Joyce, Ian, Mark, Nick, Pascoe, Paul and Tracey for making the two days such a fun shared experience.

Now to apply what I have learned in the real world always the challenge with these things!

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

