Visit to Norman Power Centre Birmingham

Peter Tempest, Cllr. Sue Anderson and myself outside the Norman Power Centre in Birmingham

A wind sweep cold early morning on Ely Station is not my favorite way to start the day but this morning I was on my way to Birmingham to meet up with my opposite number on Birmingham City Council Cllr. Sue Anderson.

Sue and I met at a conference a couple of months ago and we got chatting about Residential Care Homes as you do! I was intrigued when she said they had actually closed 29 Care homes and transfered residents to private homes and how they were working in partnership with NHS Birmingham in the delivery of 4 new joint community, day, residential and enablement facilities. She also said that as a part of the process Birmingham University had asked to do a research paper on the effects of the transfers on Residents. I said I would love to understand what they had done more and to see the research and so we fixed a meeting.

Just before we arrived at City Hall I met up with my Service Director Peter Tempest and went for a coffee to calm his nerves after he had driven and become entangled in the infamous Birmingham one way system. Birmingham is one of those great cities where the Council offices are a testament to a past era of Civic dominance all very grand with large individual offices and lots and lots of brass and mahogany.

In terms of comparisons, Birmingham whilst a metropolitan urban authority has a very similar spend on Adult Services and overall Budget to Suffolk’s. It’s also worth noting that Sue is a Liberal Democrat Councillor in a coalition administration with the Conservatives.

Sue came down to greet us and off we went to her very large office where first we meet her Director of Adult Services Peter Hay and her portfolio officer support assistant Suman McCartney, I am very envious of this level of support something we do not have in Suffolk.

They filled us in on the background and the decision making processes that lead to them taking the closure route and the thinking behind the 4 joint centers with the NHS.

Peter Hay then left us and we traveled with Sue to the Normal Power Centre and met with a number of her officers who talked us through the thinking and philosophy of the centre, After a sandwich we then had a grand tour of a truly excellent community facility.

I was asked to give a quote for their internal NHS newsletter to go with the photo and I said:

“In visiting the Norman Power centre it was great to see what can be achieved when the Community, the Council and the NHS work together.” 

Both Peter and I really found the day useful as we make the final decisions about which route I propose to Cabinet on 24th May as to which is the best route to no longer be a provider of Residential Care Homes in Suffolk whilst still supporting 2,800 people in the private sector.

The Birmingham University research paper makes for interesting reading and I intend that it is one of the links in the cabinet papers when they are released, as it provides extremely useful background information.

My thanks go to Sue, Peter, Suman, Pauline, Devinder, Sonia and Diane; along with the other centre staff we meet for taking the time out from their busy day to help us here in Suffolk make the best possible decisions.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

One Response to Visit to Norman Power Centre Birmingham

  1. innovationjw says:

    […] would like to reflect on Rob’s points regarding the residential sector and zero carbon targets, but focus instead on the commercial sector. Obviously, we all know and recognise that our […]

Leave a Reply

