The Local Elections 2011

As the night and day unfolded on Thursday and Friday it was clear that across the land the Liberals were getting a good ‘political kicking’ and you have to wonder why!

Now being the political geek I am, I have looked at a number of the results both as Agent for Norwich North and as a Suffolk Conservative and whilst you can clearly see a pattern of liberal voters turning to Labour and the Greens but that does not explain some results such as North Norfolk where the Conservatives took control (watch out Norman Lamb you’re next!).

So there must be more to it that a simply anti-vote; after all the Conservatives are in power as well and we held our own.

It seems to me that for the first time on national scale the Liberals have been exposed for what they are, a party that lacks principles. In Suffolk all we hear about is that they are for the this group and that group, yet the last time they were in power they put up the Council by a third in two years thus hurting everyone.

It’s funny I can stand in the Council Chamber across from the Labour Leader Cllr. Sandy Martin and we can argue, clear in the knowledge that we both are trying to do the best for the people of Suffolk but come at the subject from a completely difference stance. The problem when faced with the Liberal front bench is I can’t see the principles, they flip flop accordingly to what they think is populist and we can all hear the rhetoric but fundamentally fail to see bedrock principles.

I think what we are seeing in this country is that people are realising that the Liberals want power and will never let a principle get in the way of their lust for it. I am reminded of Groucho Marks’s famous one liner ‘Those are my principles. If you don’t like them…..I have others!’

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

