Visit to Lakenheath Primary School

Head Teacher Emma Vincent pointing out how the new building matches in with the original victorian building.

It’s been a busy week but I have a chance this morning to update my blog, on Monday morning, fresh from the local elections I vistied Lakenehath Primary school to have a look at the increasing traffic problems and a tour of the new school buildings which represent an investment in the village of over 1 million pounds as the schoool gears up for the oldest children to stay put rather than move to middle school in Mildenhall as part of the reorganisation of our local schools from a 3 tier structure to a 2 tier one, when we embarked on this change I said I wanted it to be accompanied by high quality new school buildings and we are delivering on this. I think parents will be just as proud as I am of the upgrades to our local primary schools in Lakenheath, Beck Row and West Row; even in these difficult times we are investing in the future of our Children’s education just as we promised we would.

I agreed that I would ask county highways officers to look again at the double yellow lines and how they could be extended to make sure inconsiderate parking does not block the local roads around the school and I discussed with the head Teacher Emma Vincent the school travel plan and how to get parents to allow their older children to walk to school or parents to car share as they bring the younger ones to school.

I was particularly interested in the new IT suite where pupils will get to use the latest computer equipment and occassionaly l I realise how old I am as I can remember at my school, a  friend of mine brigning in the first Sinclair calculator with its purble screen lit by little filiments that formed the digits and me thinking well that the end of the slide ruler! OMG I am showing my age, now where’s my blackberry!, see I am not that old! but more importantly where are my glasses as I can’t read a thing on the screen!

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

