Back out there!

Yesterday morning Iain Frost and I was back out in Lakenheath knocking on doors and asking people about issues we had identified during the Forest Heath District Council elections, seems like only last week we were out campaigning in the local election , no wait it was only last week!

It is my intention to be out every Saturday morning, diary permitting, over the coming months visiting every street in Lakenheath and Beck Row, West Row, Cavenham, Eriswell, Gazeley, Higham, Icklingham, Isleham Marina, Kenny Hill, Sedge Fen, Whistley Green, Tuddenham and Undley being the villages my County Council Division cover; to get a true sense of what residents think of cuts, their community and the level of Council tax they pay both to Forest Heath and Suffolk County Council; building up this local knowledge helps me understand what residents really think about the policies from both councils and how that impact their daily lives.

Looking towards the County elections in two years time, thinking about what people really are looking for from their Councillors in the difficult times ahead is really important; beyond the protests as services to individual groups are affected, its the opinions of the silent majority not the vocal few we need to focus on.

Out on the door step I was very interested people’s comments and I spoke with literally hundreds of people, their issues were about their bins, the future of their local library, the school extension and the lack of buses servicing the village; I heard very few comments about Andrea Hill and I did keep tally.

The people of Lakenheath were genuinely pleased with the cuts in rises of council taxes the Conservative controlled county and district council have been making.

I had 3 negative comments about Andrea’s salary level,  5 people mention that they thought the press coverage was horrid and unfair, 2 of those said that the Daily Mail coverage managed to contradict itself in the same article and 2 said that that liberal leader should be taken to Standards over her comment but to be fair they were ex-councillors  and I had 3 people said you have to pay to get good people and if that is the going rate, and I said it was, then you have to pay it.

As much as the liberals, Labour and the EADT have tried to make Andrea’s salary an election issue in my village its not, what is, is how people feel about the county and its government, the Lib Dems and Labour were even too scared to put up a candidate in my village!, the services we provide and how we take people with us about the cuts we are having to make and the actual services we deliver on the ground.

But most of all they could not give a toss what we pay our staff just continue to make sure we deliver quality services and keep the council tax down.

If we continue to do that, I suspect the liberals and Labour will be too scared to put up a candidate in Lakenheath for a long time to come!

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

