Annual Visit to the Suffolk Show

Maybe I am getting old but annual events seem to come around faster and faster and I can’t believe it’s a year since I was last meeting people on the excellent Suffolk County Council stand at the Suffolk Show but there I was again yesterday in the lovely sunshine enjoying talking to people about their issues and concerns and what we are trying to do about them as we live in a new world of less money with which to do so.

I thought the show was bigger and even better than last year with lots of Suffolk businsses taking stands and a really strong showing from the voluntary sector in Suffolk which obviously is a passion of mine. I think the way the Suffolk Agricultural Association has kept farming at the heart of the show but expanded it to be all about what is best in Suffolk and made it a really great family day out, is a real testiment to their vision and they are to be congratulated.

I was particualrly pleased to see so many organisations as a part of the County Council stand including the great team from Suffolk Circle and not far away in another row the Coffee caravan which the Care Health and Independance Board of Suffolk which I chair, helped fund and as usual Gary was on hand with a cup of tea.  Then it was lunchtime so a quick phone call to arrange to meet up with my very good friend’s Andy and Boo and it was off to the food tent for lunch and a refreshing half of Adnams splendid Spindle Drift light beer.

The big news story of the day, in the care world, was around the problems faced by Southern Cross Care Homes Group and Look East wanted to interview me for the evening show and so I made my way to their satellite van and formed an orderly queue behind various people including the hard working Suffolk Coastal MP Therese Coffey who was I think being interviewed about drought issues; the main thurst of what I was saying was about the need to plan for the worst but helping people understand that often the high level problems of a group often mean very little at the day to day end of the care provision, but that we were planning with other councils and keeping a very close eye on the situation.

All in all a lovely day out and a chance for all those who came along to see some great displays in the various show rings and celebrate all that is good about living in the lovely county that we do.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

2 Responses to Annual Visit to the Suffolk Show

  1. So glad to have come across this blog. I have a coffee caravan in Brisbane, QLD Australia and have been looking for someone else doing this but so far haven’t been able to find anything….until I read your blog. Thanks for mentioning the coffee caravan., It’s a very different concept and way of operating to what I do but nice to see someone else using a caravan for coffee all the same. Vanessa – Owner / Operator (Dolly Vardens – Coffee, Tea, Nice Eats).

    • colinnoble says:

      Hi Dolly, I think you win the prize for furtherest comment! Good to see your intiative, I’ll email you a couple of links into the coffee caravan project so that you can see what they do etc.

Leave a Reply

