School days have changed!

Yesterday I was at the official Opening Event of the new build at Lakenheath Community Primary School and was shown around by two very well drilled pupils who had a route and knew what they were to point out.

I asked them about the star system the school uses and about the various names of the classes and what they thought of all the changes, they were rightly proud of the great improvements. One of the things that really impressed me was the computer interactive white boards as my mind drifted back to my own school days with Mr. Jones, a maths teacher of the ‘old school’ his black gown grey from was wiping of chalk off the blackboard he used this instead of a blackboard rubber for that was for the throwing at pupils who were not paying attention, soft felt one side block of wood the other!; and I am not joking, his theory was that if he throw it and it hit you it proved his point that you were not paying attention, for if you were, you would have ducked! If it hit you it really hurt, and it did on a number of occasions! oh how times have changed!

The new school buidlings were officially opened by Graham Cook in recognition of him being possibly the oldest living person to have gone to the school. As I walked around I was delighted to see the promises the county and I made three years ago come to life in the great new facilities, not only new classrooms, new toilets and an IT suite but also how the building works have brought together the different extensions to the school over the years, to create a far better flow and layout.

Over a cup of tea I chatted with the Head teacher Emma and we discussed the future for the school and the great changes that the Government was proposing to the school structures.

We discussed the changing role of Head teachers, Governors and the county as the Education Authority and how we all need to work together to give the kids in the village the best possible start to their education.

Across the world Education is the key to the success of the nation state, it is no different here and we all need to value teachers, schools and the role of education in our future prosperity.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

