‘Be a Councillor’

Long day last Wednesday, with an early start to get to the NHS Health and Well Being Board Learning set Conference in the splendid surroundings of the BMA in Taverstock Square, London where we spend the day with the other learning sets discussing our work so far in this year-long project to share best practice as each Authority area sets up, forms and make their respective boards take shape.

Then it was on the Terrace of the House of Commons for the Launch of the ‘Be a Councillor’ 2012 campaign; a splendid setting for a really worthwhile campaign. Chatted to lots of people missed the 9:15 train and so did not get home until pushing midnight.

Last year I was the Conservative lead in East Anglia for the campaign and whilst it was not a great success I certainly did feedback the elements I thought needed to be changed to get the programme going. So this year I was asked if I wanted to arrange a county pilot and I jumped at the chance to see if we could make it more relevant, and actually find new people to stand, so far I have secured £20,000 of funding from the LGA and Improvement East – the Suffolk campaign starts next week.

You know if you saw an Advert: Be a Councillor? You would think the ad would carry the wording ‘If you are not white, male and over 60 please do not apply’, now of course that ridiculous but if you looked round the average Council Chamber you would think it, so the challenge is to find more women , more BME candidates, and younger people to stand for Councils. This is not about trying to recruit people to stand as conservatives, that is not the point; the point is that we need to have an effective campaign that encourages different people from different backgrounds to come forward irrespective of their political persuasions; all our Councils will be stronger if they are more representative of the poeple they serve, its a simply as that.

I look forward to blogging and tweeting what we are doing over the coming weeks.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

4 Responses to ‘Be a Councillor’

  1. Glen says:

    I went to the be a councillor event in ipswich last year,I’m 39 and from a mixed race background and am now the labour candidate for stoke park in the upcoming may council elections in ipswich.my hope is that by my standing and hopefully a successful campaign will Inspire people and make them realise that you can come from any background and still your voice can be heard and you can speak up for others.

  2. You make a good point. Councils would do well to be more representative across all the parties in terms of age, gender, race etc etc I remember reading an article by Cllr Craig Dearden-Philips saying that it was ridiculous that he felt young at 40 when attending County Council meetings. That said, if you are succesful I will no longer feel so young myself when I attend County Council meetings!

Leave a Reply

