Conservative Eastern Regional Conference with Andrew Lansley as the Key note speaker

On Saturday I drove with a couple of fellow party activists to Soham Village College for the biannual Eastern Regional Conservative Conference.

The day was wide ranging from the opening session on Police and Crime Commissioners to the closing key note from the man in the spotlight Andrew Lansley, Secretary of State for Health.

At lunchtime I had a catch with the other 3 Eastern Regional Chairman and over the school Lunch in the school Canteen we chatted about the increasing numbers and excellent calibre of people coming forward to be considered to be the Conservative candidate for the Police and Crime Commissioners.

The conference was closed by Andrew Lansley and he was greeted by a supportive round of applause when he stood to speak, and by the time he sat down we saw the conviction he has for the changes he is championing, during the Q&A session we saw the great depth of knowledge he has, I asked a question about the Dilnot proposals and his understanding of the work to date was very impressing and indeed encouraging.

As Portfolio Holder for adult and Community Services at Suffolk County Council I sit on the Health and Well Being Board for Suffolk. I chair the network of Lead members for Adult Social Services and the key work of that group is considering the emerging reforms. I also work closely with senior Management teams of Suffolk and the Great Yarmouth and Waveney PCTs as well as the Chief Executives and Chairmen of the Acute Trusts that’s the Ipswich and West Suffolk Hospitals to you and me. I am also actively building relationships with the leaders of Suffolk’s emerging Clinical Commissioning Groups. Nationally I am member of the NHS Learning sets looking at the Well Being Boards and the emerging Health and Social Care Bill. Also as a Council we have made extensive representations to the various consultations that have been produced during the bills progress. As such I consider that I am reasonable well informed and able to comment on the proposals and I have to say I absolutely think that what is proposed is a set of reforms that gently tip the balance of power and focus to where it need to be; the objections seem to me to be about vested interests looking out for their members, T

The recent Commons select Committee for Health have under the great chairmanship of Stephen Dorrell MP have produced a very challenging report on the state of Health and Social care and its integration or lack of it.

The Health and Social Care bill is but a step on a journey to a more responsive, better integrated service to serve all of us and I fully support it. If the proposals are anything they are an opportunity to do better and help create a more integrated service and I for one am very supportive and think we need to see just how far they progress us.

As usual a thought provoking Conference that was a great mix of high level thinking, practical on the ground solutions, how to improve the party structure and really good debate about how to improve the services we provide our communities.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

