Annual Lakenheath Parish Meeting

Maybe it’s just me but annual meetings seem to come around faster and faster these days must be something about age but I prefer not to go there. Last night 20 people ‘packed’ into Lakenheath Village Hall, 20 people most of whom I know on first name terms and are the people most engaged in village life from Parish Councillors to concerned residents.

The great challenge it seems to me is how can we drive up the attendance and make the meeting more relevant to people in the village so they attend. A community meeting is about people coming together to discuss the issues they collectively have to deal with and I wonder if we could make the next meeting different perhaps with stands around the ends of the hall from the various community groups explaining what they do and how people can join, perhaps if we provide a cup of tea and a few sandwiches so people can genuinely make a night of it. Anyway I shall be talking with the Chairman of the meeting to see what we can do to make it more interactive and better attended.

For those people who did attend in my few minutes I talked about the challenges ahead , the way in which Suffolk County Council was facing them and what I thought were the key issues the village faced from the need to use the bus service that I had fought so hard to make happen; to the great news that I have secured funding to bring back the Matthews Projec team for a long running programme from next month throught the summer to engage with those young people in the village who do not get involved in other activities. I then spoke about the challenges facing FOLK the Friends of Lakenheath Library to get the usage of the Library up and more people engaged in what a great community resource it is, on the about me page I have added a link to the FOLK blog site for anyone interested in following there progress or who would like to get involved in this great project; to asking people to give me feed back on how the Street lighting switch off programme was working for them. I did really touch on my role as one of our two District Councillors on Forest Heath District Council because I knew that Cllr. James Waters the Council Leader and officers would be attending who did precisely that.

The issues around Lakenheath Hall dominated the discussion with them as people’s concerns that this once lovely Hall and grounds continued to be an eye sore were expressed. I will be speaking with the officer who did attend today to make sure that we better communicate the progress that is being made and I will be closely monitoring the discussion with the developers as they hopefully work to put right past mistakes.

All in all a very useful meeting but my thoughts are focused on how to make it more relevant to the community so we truly pack the hall for a really interactive night next year.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

