NHS Learning set day

Yesterday I attended the 3rd plenary day of the NHS Learning set as we design products, that’s briefing papers to you and me on emerging best practice and what each group thinks about the Health and Well Being Boards.

The first session was with my Learning set B2 – Collaborative Leadership to discuss the day and who would be doing what, I agreed to man the stand for a stint, where I talked to cohorts members about the products we are developing around top tips for people from the former PCT s, for Doctors about Councillors and for Councillors about Doctors; sounds simply but a lot so hard work went into the design of what to say and what not to say from each side of the fence.

The opening plenary session was opened by Cllr. Gareth Bernard to give t that LGA link, I know Gareth from my early days as a Councillor when we were both on the Leadership Centre Next Generation Year 1 programme together. He was joined by John Wilderspin National Director of HWB Boards Implementation who I had a long chat with a couple of weeks previous at the Kinds Fund event looking at a self-assessment tool for HWB Boards. Next up was David Behan, Director General of Social Care, Local Government and Care Partnerships – Department of Health, what a title. I have met with David a couple of times when a group of us meet with him and Paul Burstow MP to lobby about the vital nature of the Dilnot proposals. It can be quite a small world somestimes!

David spoke about the learning that was emerging and one of the things that truly stuck in my mind was his comment that it would be easy for the HWB Boards to slip into a comfortable scrutiny place rather than the place where true reform and change is driven; It struck me  how very true this is and I have spoken of the need for Healthwatch and upper tier authority Health Scrutiny function to fulfil those roles and for the HWB Board to ban anything that looks remotely like it from their agenda’s!

The rest of the day was a string of workshop sessions about the learning across the county and it struck me that on each subject area there was a genuine desire to succeed and a common thread to effect real change. Not to just become another committee of the upper tier authority, this is the real challenge before us to actually redesign the most sensitive eco system in this country!, no small order at all.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

