A Big Day for Suffolk

Today is Valentine’s Day, but I suspect in the Council Chamber at Suffolk County Council there will not be much love in the air. As today is also Budget day at the Council and you can’t help but wonder who decided that this would be a Council meeting day. Our partners put up with a great deal from us to do these roles with the endless evening meetings and probably more than the occasional moan at home about the things we see and hear; I personally think this day should not be a day when we discuss Council business but a day when we say thank you to our partners for putting up with the life of a Councillor.

So beyond the debate ahead, my focus is to be home in time to take Lisa out to dinner and remember to pick up those flowers.

It’s quite a packed day and I’m just off the Ipswich for a final check in with my Director to discuss my speech, then onto a 3 hour group meeting, grab a sandwich and then to the debate ahead, not to mention going on to FHDC (have done the same thing with a meeting today at 6pm) to approve the final decision on the Newmarket Home of Horseracing, a significant day in the life of Newmarket where one half of my family have lived for over a hundred years and I want to be there to play my part in that debate as well… hope the restaurant I’m taking Lisa to stays open late!

Across Suffolk over the past week no doubt Councillors have been putting the finishing touches to their speeches and as I wrote mine I pondered the past ones since my election as a Country Councillor and indeed what got me into politics in the first place was a County Council Budget.

Today we will be proposing a third successive year of 0% Council Tax increase and who knows what else, well I do for one! And it is such stark contrast to the appalling hikes of the last Labour/Liberal administration when in the face of considerable less financial pressure they simply put the council tax up by 11.9% in one year and 18.5% in another, that’s over a third in two years, as I write this I almost have to check the facts as its difficult to believe they could be so utterly arrogant and feckless with people hard earned money, quite shocking.

Beyond the sanity we have brought to the Council, there is lots more I could say but that is for this afternoon, but one of thing I shall reflection on is the brilliant way my officers in ACS have responded to the challenges, the quite amazing way they have embarked on the journey I have demanded and the outstanding work they are doing.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

