Row Heath 2013

My Row Heath campaign 2013 and Conservaitve Pledge of 0%, 0%, 0%, 0% Council tax rises

My Row Heath campaign 2013 and Conservaitve Pledge of 0%, 0%, 0%, 0% Council tax rises

Out on the campaign trail in Undley

Out on the campaign trail in Undley

Out on the campaign trail in the Rows

Out on the campaign trail in the Rows

This is the first of a series of blog posts I’ll write about the County Council election results, as many of us involved in the wonderful and often weird world of politics reflect on the high political drama of an election and what people are telling us. But before I do all that my first is rightly about the opinion of the residents of Row Heath.Row Heath 2013 result was:

Me (Conservative):              1104   (43.43%)

Ian Smith (UKIP):                 881     (34.66%)

David Gathercole (Ind):       284     (11.17%)

Pam Brown (Labour):          197     (7.75%)

Elle Minshall (Lib Dem):     76        (2.3%)

On the Thursday night I sat for a couple of hours pondering if I was going to win or lose and I worked out from our returns that I would probably win and that the turn-out was about 33% it turned out to be 32.85% so that was not bad on both points.

Essentially UKIP did badly in my division only adding 39 votes to their 2009 total. Less people voted which is always a disappointment, in 2009 the turnout was 40%, albeit the same day as the last European Parliamentary elections. Row Heath’s result was in stark contrast to neighbouring Suffolk divisions, in one our excellent candidate James Waters just won by 9 votes and in the other we lost by some margin as Stephen Edwards, who would have been a great County Councillor, lost to the UKIP surge, it was for a reason that Nigel Farage held his recent eastern region rally in Brandon.

Firstly, I want to say congratulations to everyone who stood.  Whether a paper candidate or not, putting your name on a ballot paper is actually tougher than many might think and I do actually admire anyone who stands up and seeks to be counted.

It an interesting thing as you watch a count, a vote there and you’re lost and oh well never mind, suffer the slings and arrows and all that. Then comes a vote for you and you are rather humbled that people actually do want you to stand up for them.

Of course the day was UKIP’s across the Eastern Region and anyone who says it was not is just being too politically correct, I think I am known for holding a party line or two but it was their day and we need to listen.

It has been and continues to be a huge honour and privilege to represent the area I grew up in and know so well. I would like to thank everyone who voted for me and those who helped me so such much during the campaign but a special mention goes to my partner Lisa, part confidant, part motivator, but complete leaflet delivery machine. Not sure it was her desire to see me returned or the thought of me losing and being at home more that gets her out there.

I got into local politics because I was outraged that the previous Liberal/labour controlled County Council put up the council tax by 11.9% in one year and 18.5% in another. I am delighted to have played my part in the continued Conservative control of Suffolk County Council, and that we will deliver 0% Council tax rises for the whole of the next term, on the back of three years of 0% Council tax rises. Wow what a difference.

My final comment is that I am here to serve the whole of Row Heath, irrespective of whether you voted or whom you voted for. Please do not hesitate to contact me, I am here to help if I can.

Out on the campaign trail in Eriswell

Out on the campaign trail in Eriswell

Out on the campaign trail in Tuddenham St. Mary

Out on the campaign trail in Tuddenham St. Mary

Out on the campaign trail in Icklingham

Out on the campaign trail in Icklingham

Out on the campaign trail in Higham

Out on the campaign trail in Higham

Out on the campaign trail in Cavenham

Out on the campaign trail in Cavenham

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

