The corporate peer challenge and role of peers

Last Friday I went along to Local Government House for a training session on the corporate peer challenge and a discussion about the role of peers; as I am now an accredited peer and keen to see if I can add value to this process.

As I sat in the room I cast my mind back to my first visit to LGA house in 2006 and the journey I have personally been on since them, sitting in the room Friday was a cohort of leaders and former this and that’s many of whom I have got to know of the past few years. Each with many years of experience and knowledge that can help others as they grapple with this thing called Local Government.

The peer challenge is essentially about going to help other Councils and Councillors across the political divide. Having spent 4 years in the role of Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care in Suffolk I hope I can offer a sense of setting a strategic direction and them how to drive that through. I also have a regional and national prospective having been involved in a number of lobbying campaigns with both this Government and the previous Labour one.

To me the training Friday seemed very sensible and something of an extension of the work I have tried to do in building the LGA Lead Member for Heath and Adult Social Care network in East Anglia as a space for members to come along, here the latest thinking and share some of our more difficult issues and hear form others as to how best to overcome these.

In my experience, there seems little you will come across that someone else has not and rather than reinventing wheels and making the same mistakes; the true strength of networks and the Corporate peer changeling is to use others experience to advance the organisation and service delivery in whatever aspect of local government that might be without repeating others mistakes.

Now more than ever we need to be think, plan and simply be more intelligent about how we move forward, as we face the challenge of rising demand and public expectation, at a time of less money with which to do things.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

