Lakenheath Summer Fête

With the good ladies of the Local Conservative Branch setting out the home-made cakes

With the good ladies of the Local Conservative Branch setting out the home-made cakes

On Saturday, Lakenheath held its annual summer fête, and as usual I was delighted to go along. Our local Conservative Branch gazebo combined a home-made cake sale with our usual Conservative literature that even had a visit from UKIP to see what we were up to!

As you can see from the photo lots of lovely cakes and plenty of wind, just look at the side of gazebo bellowing inwards, at one point we had to get additional pegs to hold the gazebo down after it nearly took flight but we managed to grab it in time!

For my part I sold a few cakes and took the opportunity to chat to residents about their issues and concerns. The main topic of conversation was about where are we going to put the new homes the village will see built over the coming years and how are we going to grow the village infrastructure to meet this increased demand.

An important part of the day for me is spent at other stalls checking in with and chatting to the many community groups that Lakenheath can be justly proud of. As I went around I met up with the web designer of www.visitlakenheath.co.uk and we spoke about how to get more community groups and businesses taking advantage of the web page offer I funded through my Locality funding.

It was also great to see www.lakenheathlibraryfriends.wordpress.com promoting the library. For the second year running, they had a stall hosting a second hand book sale and tombola to raise further funds for the library and many people were able to chat to them about the great work they are doing on behalf of our village library. They had also invited back Alison Bruce to talk about her back catalogue of crime novels and promote her upcoming fifth release in the DC Goodhew series, The Backs.

All in all a great day out, only a few spots of rain and an opportunity for the community to showcase what makes Lakenheath such a special place to live, but hey I would say that wouldn’t I, I’m a Lakenheath Boy.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

