Lakenheath Village Care Home Public Meeting

I am pleased to announce the confirmed date of the re-arranged public meeting in Lakenheath to discuss the closure of Lakenheath Village Care Home and the future needs of the village for our older residents as their Care needs change. This meeting is the rearranged one from before Christmas which was cancelled by myself and the Trustees of the Charity that runs the village home, as I was unable to attend due to a very sad family funeral that afternoon some 150 miles away in Barnsley and I would not have been able to attend.

On Facebook some people were less than kind about its cancellation and as I responded to the comments, I made the point that the public meeting was not a ‘Save Our Care Home’ one, as the decision had been taken and residents supported by their loved ones, social workers, the trustees and staff were finding new homes in the run up to the home’s closure which was projected for the 20th December and did close.

The meeting will be Friday 7th February at 7pm in the Village Hall and it will be an opportunity for the Trustees to explain the decision they took, their future role in our community and for me to discuss with those who attend what we want in the future to take care of the needs of our older residents, perhaps helping to explain how the complex care system works, discuss care facilities in the area in general and future plans I am lobbying for in Lakenheath and what we can realistically seek to achieve.

In my discussions with residents their families, loved ones, staff and indeed the Trustees everyone is sad that the home has closed and clearly it’s a great loss to our community but times change and things like en-suite toilet facilities and space to manoeuvre modern support hoists as well as the sheer number of staff now demanded by the regulators, regrettably make small but much loved homes like this, unsustainable.

I have heard much said about the future of the site and the one thing I do know is that if sold the proceeds will go immediately back into the Trust so that it can continue to fulfil its Founders wishes, which are enshrined in its Governing Document, that the money will be used for the benefit of the older residents of Lakenheath.

I do hope you can come along on the 7th February to discuss the future of care in Lakenheath Village, all are welcome, not just residents of  the village as it’s an opportunity to also discuss the future of care services in communities in general.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

