The European Election campaign trail

Last Thursday Vicky Ford MEP and Conservative candidate in May’s European Elections came and spent an hour talking through the campaign ahead with myself and fellow Suffolk County Councillors. Of course what will be a major political set of elections across Europe with high engagement and turn out will for any British political party with the exception of UKIP be a difficult set to motivate supporters to campaign and voters to vote.

I have in my political involvement been fortunate to, I hope, have a reasonable understanding of Europe. Occasionally I work with East Anglia’s 4 Conservative Euro MEP, Vicky, Geoffrey Van Orden, Robert Sturdy and David Campbell Bannerman. In my opinion each of them work very hard and are absolutely committed to getting the best out of what is a very complex eco-system of how Europe works. Robert is retiring and I know his trade knowledge and committee work will be missed in the European parliament as will his hard work on East Anglia’s behalf. But as is the way of the world there are great candidates seeking to be elected in his place with the experienced John Flack and the youthful Tom Hunt to name but two of the rest of the conservative team.

Over the past few years I too have had some small involvement being the inaugural Vice Chairman of a European think tank EUREGHA and seen its useful contribution first hand in Brussels. I have also been the County Council Cabinet Member in charge of a department as it went after a chunk of European funding some €275,000 of funding for a pan-European project on Active Ageing and I hosted a international Conference in Ipswich, so have seen first-hand and I value the collaboration that Europe provides in what are difficult areas of service delivery.

So as we look forward to the Euro elections it will be interesting to watch the positioning at Westminster as each party attempts to suggest there is but the only course on this difficult question. I suspect that the key for us Conservatives rests with the Referendum and whether people vote UKIP because they want out, as is UKIP simply articulation on the subject or as a move to drive home to David Cameron that he must have one, a strange battleground but such is life.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

