Tony Benn

As the various tributes pour in following the passing of veteran Labour politician Tony Benn, I though I would add my personal memory. As anyone who is kind enough to read my blog will realise his politics and mine are somewhat at the other end of the spectrum but he certainly held his views firm and true throughout his life and that is a quality I much admire as I do struggle to come to terms with those who’s ability to remove one rosette and pin on another is an easy action. Likewise my personal reading list is mainly made up of reading the views of those I actually disagree with rather than those from my own side and one of the series of books I have enjoyed most over the years was Tony Benn’s diaries. In fact come to think of it my book shelves are rather filled with political diaries and commentary and other than the odd history book that seems to be the sole breath of my reading.

I went to school in Ely and whilst a few years ago now, I still return to the city to visit my favourite book shop Topping and Co at 9 High Street, a wonderful little book shop well worth the trip. The other great place in Ely I love to visit is the Lady Chapel in Ely Cathedral, in my view, other that the La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, the most beautiful church I have ever had the privilege to sit and ponder a while in. So when, a few years ago, Topping and Co arranged for Tony Benn to talk come to Ely to talk about his diaries in the Lady Chapel I jumped at the chance. At the event Tony Benn spoke with great wisdom about his life in politics, his unwavering belief in left wing politics and that whilst a far from perfect system, British politics for all its ups and downs has produced a stability which is the envy of the world. At the end in time honoured tradition was an opportunity to have your purchased book signed by the man himself and to have the briefest of chats. As I queued I wondered what to say and I mentioned that years earlier how, often, as I dined with my father in London as one of his favourite restaurants, I would see him sweep past us, along with much of the labour front bench to the famous upstairs room at the oldest Hungarian restaurant in London the Gay Hussar in Soho, at that time the sort of unofficial dining room of the labour movement, and for that brief moment we shared memories of one of London’s more ‘difficult’ restaurateurs, Victor Sassie. The restaurant remains but its Hungarian owner is but a memory, as too now is Tony Benn. A very honest and true to his beliefs man and whilst our politics may be very different, someone to much admire is these shifting middle ground times.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

One Response to Tony Benn

  1. Cllr Rona Burt says:

    I thought your account of meeting with Tony Benn was excellent reading.I admired him as a Politician although as you say at either end of the political world.

Leave a Reply

