A busy couple of weeks

Over the past couple of weeks I have quite busy not only talking with fellow Conservative Suffolk County Councillors about the issues we face and how we are facing them, ahead of next Thursday decision on the future strategy of the group, but also in a couple of fascinating external projects.

When you reach a certain level of experience as a councillor there can be opportunities to work with other councils helping them but more importantly helping your own council as you reflect back what you have learnt in other places. It’s not for everyone but I have always had the opinion that you can and should accelerate your learning and that of your organisation by looking at how others have and are done things, what works and what does not. It can be a worrying trait of Local Government that occasionally it can be far too insular. That’s why in my two cabinet roles to date I have been passionate about creating lead member groups across the region, one for adult social care which I chaired and more recently when I switched to the finance role I have started up and now Chair the equivalent for finance lead members.

In the same vein, last week I was in Poole as a part of a team from the LGA doing an Adult Safeguarding Review. Essentially looking at the way in which, as the Council as they go about their business, if potential issues of abuse of residents in whatever form that might take are highlighted, investigated and most importantly stopped. For all the services councils provide it is the area of safeguarding which is its most serious and getting it right for all councils and the people they serve, must be their number one priority. I learnt a lot, in a number of intense meetings with people from across their system, much of which I can reflect back to the team at Suffolk.

Yesterday I was in Birmingham working with the LGA Leadership Centre as it, in co-junction with the Institute of Public Health, delivered a morning’s workshop for Directors of Public Health in the East and West Midlands, on working in a political environment one year on from the move of Public Health from the NHS to Local Government, as a part of a three day course they were undertaking. I delivered this alongside a Labour Councillor from Liverpool and a Lib Dem from Oldham so it was politically balanced. Essentially our role was to help them understand party political differences and how to influence and work with councillors on the public health agenda. It was a really interesting morning’s work, again I learnt new things which I can bring back to Suffolk.

Talking about interesting things, for me the week ahead will certainly be that.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

