A walk in the Country

07.04.2014 West Row cycle way (steps down to riverbank section)

Yesterday I was at the official opening of the new West Row to Mildenhall shared Bridle/cycle way.

In my short speech before Cllr. John Bloodworth, Chairman of Mildenhall Parish Council cut the ribbon, I talked about one of the very first people I visited in West Row when I was fighting my election campaign to be a County Councillor, way back in 2006, mentioned that people in the village needed a safe way to walk and cycle to Mildenhall.

So here, some 8 years later the ambition is realised, a project I have battled for throughout my time as a Councillor and to be honest when I started the process I was not sure we’d ever put the considerable funding required together.

At the ceremony I was joined by Cllr. Graham Newman, Cabinet Member for Roads and Transport who spoke about the important of safe cycleways and how even in these difficult times SCC are investing along with government funding, in schemes like this and others like the new cycleway being built in Bury St. Edmunds across the A14, where the bridge has just been lowered into place.

Graham also brought his bike and after the ribbon cutting and press photos, he took the opportunity to cycle, and I took the opportunity to walk the whole length of the new path.

From the initial plans this project, through consultation with residents along its route, horse riders, cyclists anglers and others, has grown in its ambition and cost and one of the great things we have been able to do is open up the undergrowth to the riverbank with some lovely views across the river previously you would have struggled to realise you were next to a river.

At the moment there is much discussion about the leadership and strategy at County Hall and yesterday I was reminded why it is important to debate how we better focus the activities of the council towards the things our residents tell us they need.

07.04.2014 West Row cycle way (new views over the river)07.04.2014 West Row cycle way (twin track section)07.04.2014 West Row cycle way (middle section)07.04.2014 West Row cycle way (West Row end)

 

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

