New Parliamentary Candidate for North Norfolk

After the Full Council meeting last Friday week I headed off to Sheringham some 63 miles away, 2 hours and 15 minutes later I arrived and of course it’s after journeys like that, I thought to myself whilst I occasionally moan about the A14, you certainly notice the rural nature of Norfolk and Suffolk when you have to use the other roads!

I was there to officiate at the North Norfolk Conservative Prospective parliamentary hustings, officiate is a posh way of saying count the votes for each of the candidates. The event took place in the wonderful new Community Centre built by Tesco’s money when they eventually landed a store in Sheringham after 10 years of trying and much opposition. I was taken back to business meetings I had in a work capacity more about 10 years ago when one of the PR company I commissioned in Norwich was on one side of the argument or the other either promoting the Tesco’s store or working for a rival supermarket chain already in the seaside town trying to stop them in their tracks. I can’t remember which side they were working for but I do remember the community engagement strategy.

Anyway I digress, in a packed room 3 candidates answered a series of set questions and open ones from the floor before the member of the Association voted. The short list was 3 excellent women with 2 of them being local to Norfolk and the other local to East Anglia and all of them Councillors. As they presented, myself and other assembled party hacks at the back pondered who won the day in terms of their performance and would they win. It was of course another opportunity to reflect on the thing called leadership, the qualities of each candidate and what the people in the room were looking for in a candidate to take the Conservative fight to Norman Lamb MP. As it was it was one of my former political oppos on Norfolk County Council and current Breckland District Councillor the excellent Ann Steward won the day. I’ve known Ann for a number of years and know she’ll work very hard to overturn Norman Lamb’s majority and return North Norfolk to its rightful blue colour on the map.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

