Networks online and offline

Last Wednesday I attended ‘Sprint 2 – Networks’ of the Networked Councillor course from Public-i. Often in life there are light bulb moments, where things you do, get a name and in the session about network mapping it struck me that this is what you do between elections to be an effective Councillors, of course I’ve attended all the good and great courses on campaigning, Being an effective councillor, Our Place, Community budgets and err… I could go on but in this one short session I came to see one of the key roles of a councillor in a slightly different and illuminating way.

Building networks whether in the check-out queue in the local Co-op mini supermarket or online with Facebook discussing the issues of the day it is about building those connection between community groups individual volunteers and the various element of local government that help to build a strong community able to help look after those vulnerable people in it and to make the sense of a great place to live stronger.

On Saturday I lead a session at the West Suffolk Conservatives Campaign 2015 training day where we explored many aspect of the 2015 local council and the general election. A good gathering of existing Councillors and new candidates joined Matthew Hancock MP and the senior officer team of the Association. I led a session on Social media and gave a 10 minute snap shot of my social media experiences and some of the things I have learned on the Networked Councillors course.

I suspect a few people in the room will take up the social media offer and I whilst I think that this coming election will be one that is won predominantly on traditional methods of getting out there, knocking on doors and talking to people, it will be interesting to see the degree to which activity and discussion on social media increases and its influence on the eventual outcomes.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

One Response to Networks online and offline

  1. Geoff Holdcrft says:

    Thanks Colin you put that very eloquently. Like you I too had that light bulb moment when it dawned on me what our role as local councilors has and ought to be. We are uniquely placed to construct that network in our communities such that we can all help each other. Perhaps I knew all this deep down as part of political DNA having sought against the all controlling state but as you say very much a light bulb moment and one I am keen to spread to a wider audience of my fellow councilors.

Leave a Reply

