A few days in Birmingham

Last Sunday week it was off to Birmingham for the annual gathering of Conservatives. I caught the train from Ely arriving at New Street Station for the third time in three weeks. I decided I’d do much better to embrace the new station concourse layout rather than try to get my bearings based on where things used to be and that worked much better. Off to the Hotel on Broad Street and then to the conference. The ICC is a great but equally confusingly layout that takes time to remember where all the halls are.

That evening I was invited to a round table dinner organised jointly by the Stoke Association, Diabetes UK and the British Heart Foundation. I was delighted to see Cllr. Colette Wyatt-Lowe the chairman of the Hertfordshire Health and Wellbeing Board and my successor as Chairman of the Lead Member for Adult Social Services Network in the Eastern Region there as well. Also there was Cllr. Rob Waltham Cabinet member for the People’s Directorate at North Lincolnshire Council with whom I remarked it’s a s small world and I’d see him shortly as I was to be the Councillor Peer at the upcoming Local Government Association’s Adult Safeguarding Peer Review he and his a team had requested.

Interesting conversations about how those organisations could better engage with Conservative Local and national Government as they seek to influence the Public Health Agenda.

Afterwards it was off to the annual Conservative Councillor Association Reception to chat up with other Conservative Councillors about the coming three days. Speeches by the Chairman of the Party Grant Shapps MP who seems to have moved on from his time judged ‘scout Leaders’ comments of old and then an amusing speech from the DCLG Secretary of State the inimitable Eric Pickles MP.

As others drifted off to the bar I declined and went back to my room as I had an early start to deliver a speech the next day to a Fridge organised by the Swanswell Organisation the national Alcohol and Drug Charity talking primarily about how to curb Drink Driving, so I thought it would be best that should be err…’well rested’.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

