Suffolk Conservative’s Training Day

2014_10_11 Suffolk Conservatives Training DayOn Saturday Conservative Candidates from across Suffolk gathered in Stowmarket for a training day called the Road to 2015, looking at how to campaign in the local election and the general elections on the same day.

I kicked off the proceedings and spoke for 30 minutes about social media and a few reflections on what I think it is, what I think it isn’t and some of the things I have learnt over the past couple of years as I’ve dipped my toe in the water of the subject. At the start we did a short session about what people see as the advantage and disadvantages of social media. I then talked about the Facebook discussions that raged late last year as the Trustees of the Lakenheath Residential Care Home took the difficult decision to close it doors. We discussed twitter, blogs, ‘up my street’ and the many other ways to use social media to engage with residents and build networks as you work to get my message across.

Next up we heard from Richard from the CCA about canvassing and how to engage with people on the door step, later we heard from Paul from CCHQ about the software updates we would be getting shortly to help us in our canvassing and campaigning. And in between them we heard from Ben Gummer MP who spoke about that very morning’s canvass in Ipswich and the campaign he was engaged in, Vicky Ford MEP spoke about her reflections on may’s Euro Elections and the Clacton By-Election and then we had a flying visit from the Conservative Prospective Parliamentary Candidate in North Norfolk Ann Steward about her campaign to give North Norfolk the kind of local representation it deserves and how she is going about winning back voters and unseating the lib dems Norman Lamb.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

