Public Health: Post 2015 Challenge Conference

2014_11_05 Public Health Conference Plenary Group PictureLast Wednesday I travelled to London to meet with officers from the LGA to discuss aspect of my new portfolio responsibilities on The LGA Community Wellbeing Board and then it was off to the Mermaid Theatre for a Public Health Conference where we had been asked to provide a speaker for a closing plenary Question Time session about Public Health the local Government prospective going forward.

On the platform with me were Natalie Bennett, Leader of the Green Party, Cllr. Mike Roberts, a senior Labour Local Government figure in the LGA and the session was moderated by Tam Fry.

For my part in my opening few words I spoke about the role of Public Health and the landscape in which it operates and my opinion that the greatest single challenge ahead was their role in an evidence based approach to how we cope with an Ageing Population. The House of Lords Committee on Public Services and Demographic change warned in March 2013 in its report ‘Ready for Ageing? That the UK was ‘woefully underprepared’ for the social and economic challenges presented by an ageing society. For example, with the number of people living with long-term medical conditions is set to rise sharply, so a ‘radically different model’ of care will be needed to support people in their homes and to prevent pressure on the NHS. I think this can currently be seen manifesting itself at the sharp end with the debates about pressure on A&E frankly the tip of the Ageing Population and these debates will gather in strength and urgency as the realities of an Ageing Population and a lack of systemic planning hit home, we are simply not keeping up with the rising demand.

It was an interesting question time session and it is strange how you find yourself slipping into a sort political party mode at times. One of the reoccurring themes used by both Natalie Bennett and Cllr. Roberts was that this country is the 6th wealthiest in the world and so we should be able to do this and that. And so in response I had to do what Conservatives always seem to have to do! Both seemed to be determined to ignore the fundamentals of our underlying economic challenge, promising the earth with a default position of how we pay for it, lots more taxes. I hoped I interjected a sense of realism that Local Government and Public Health better look to itself for the solutions to the challenges ahead because there was not likely to be additional monies from Central government for many years to come. A really excellent Q&A session and well worth the trip form my point of view and I hoped the audience agreed.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

