First Train to Liverpool

Ely Station with no a single other person about!

Ely Station 5:25am with not a single other person about!

A couple of Wednesdays ago I left home at an unnatural hour and caught the first train of the day from Ely Station at 5:30am to get to Liverpool in time for the annual TLAP Conference at Aintree Racecourse. I had intended to travel the day before but could not due to a Lakenheath Parish Council meeting I wanted to attend and I spoke about in my one of my last blogs.

Having got to Liverpool just in time to hear the conference opening words from Clenton Farquharson MBE who is Chairman of Healthwatch Birmingham and Co-Chairman of the National Co-Production Advisory Group and Sam Bennett who is the Chief Executive of the National TLAP programme, both of whom I sit on the National TLAP Board with, after which I settled down for the rest of the morning to hear the words of speakers at this important conference. TLAP stands for Think Local Act Personal, a nation programme board with many partner organisation promoting the personalisation of our Care Services and if you been kind enough to read this blog, you will know I sit on its Board representing the Local Government Association.

After lunch I co-chaired a workshop session called ‘Building strong inclusive communities. A Framework for Health and Wellbeing Boards’ where we talked about the new Framework for Building Community Capacity and how different Health and Wellbeing Boards are rising to the challenge it provides to put building the capacity of their communities at the heart of their thinking.

In the last Plenary of the day I took to the stage alongside. David Pearson, President of ADASS, Alex Fox of Shared Lives Plus, both of whom are fellow TLAP Board Members alongside Kathy Roberts from the Mental Health Providers Forum and Sherone Philips of the Nation Co-Production Advisory Group. The session was chaired by Richard Humphries of the Kings Fund who is one of this country’s leading thinkers on Health and Social Care. I was asked to speak briefly about the LGA First 100 days (of a new Government from May 2015) and what the LGA is asking for in respect of Adult Social Care and on behalf of Health and Wellbeing Boards across the Country. For the end of a long day it was heartening to see so many people remain for what was a very interesting Q&A session exploring the future of Social Care in a changing environment, relationships with Health and the cuts agenda that will be around for many years to come. Then it was back to the trains and the long day ended at 11:15 as I arrived home.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

