A day at the Cricket – not!

2014_12_03 TLAP NCAG Lunchtime at the OvalA couple of Thursday’s ago it was up to London again for a visit to The Long Room at the Famous Oval Cricket Ground and more importantly a morning meeting of the BCC group of TLAP, BCC stands for Building Community Capacity where I represent the LGA.

At Lunch time we joined the NCAG (Nation Co-Production Advisor Group) who were having a day’s workshop on their vision for the future of care services co-production.  At lunch I got catting with Janet Brandish who is training officer for a Charity in Norwich called Opening Doors and is the Co- Chair of NCAG, we discussed Norwich and its MP Chloe Smith who I said I used to work with as her Association Chairman and Janet spoke about access to benefits and the difference between those who can work, those who are unable to work and the work shy. I also meet with Alan who cares for his Daughter who has Learning and Physical disabilities, he spoke of the importance of the Day care and respite care she receives and its importance to her life. Janet was keen for me to read the Sir Stephen Bubb, Chief Executive of ACEVO and author of the independent report into the shocking abuse at the NHS Winterbourne View Care Home written in Easy Read on her tablet explaining what it means for those with physical and learning disabilities. Really interesting and well worth looking on http://www.england.nhs.uk to have a read.

Also on the table was Marjory Broughton from SEEFA – South East England Forum on Ageing. As I was reading Janet’s Tablet, Marjory spoke about the importance of technology in keeping people in touch and I mentioned the Dragon Den I had been involved in for EELGA earlier in the year and that the winning bid was from a company looking to make an easy use tablet system for older people. She kindly invited me to a House of Lords Symposium called ‘Transforming not Excluding, the impact of information technology and innovation on later life’ taking place in January and she invited me along which I look forward to. In the afternoon, I continued the conversation with Marjory as we both attended the TLAP Board meeting, discussing aspects of the programmes delivery.

As I sat there at lunch time talking with Alan I said it was great that he was giving back to the system and sitting on NCAG to help shape the national approach and it struck me that for all the Board meeting, workshops, lobbying, Conference, and asks of Government on this table were two people who lives are profoundly affected by budget decisions in Government and Councils and that is why they need a strong voice to make their views heard.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

