As the dust settles

conservativesThursday was a 27 hour day for many Conservatives, in Suffolk it started before dawn with many of us arriving in Ipswich for Ben Gummer’s ‘dawn raid’, much, much later with the final ‘knock up’ to see if people had voted in my patch completed, it was into the cars and over the Parliamentary count at Newmarket Leisure Centre and to watch the national events unfold on TV. The exit poll was a real shock and I don’t think anyone of us, let alone Paddy Ashdown believed it. As the night turned into dawn, Matthew Hancock’s majority increased and it became clear that the opinion polls had got it spectacularly wrong and across the country people made a clear choice.

I suppose I did have an inkling of it in that as I campaigned this year across East Anglia and in my own village the mood seems very different to the opinion polls, something I struggled to reconcile in my own mind, almost everywhere I have been knocking on doors people have said I’m voting conservative because… and there have been many reasons but underpinning them all was…as one famous America Presidential candidate once said ‘it’s the economy stupid’. Clearly whether you like this or that policy, what matters most is a strong economy from which all other things we like, things we would want to see happen for us, our families and our communities stems from the strength of our economy.

Locally both Louise, my running mate and I were elected to serve of Forest Heath District Council the results were:

Pam Brown (Labour)221
Cowboy Gathercole (UKIP) 634
Michael Hutchings (Labour) 219
Louise Marston (Conservative) 979
Myself (Conservative) 839
Tracy Whitehand (UKIP) 495

The number of Ballot papers issued was 1993, which generated 3986 votes but surprisingly 567 people did not use their second vote. The block vote is usually how people vote and you would occasionally get people voting for one person or different people from different parties but usually in local elections that would be relatively few. A number of people told me that the advice was not clear that you had two votes and they thought it was like the other ballot paper where you had one vote for MP. I am going to raise this point of clearer information with the returning officer.

Firstly my thanks to those who voted for me. I consider it an honour and privilege to serve my community where I am born and bred, once, twice and always a Lakenheath Boy.

As I campaigned in the village with Louise Marston we picked up lots of issues residents had not brought forward before, as well as some things still not sorted out; alongside their aspirations for our community going forward. Louise and I will be working on a list of action points to get stuck into.

Whether you voted for us or not we are here to represent and help you and please do not hesitate to contact either Louise or myself.

Looking wider we Conservatives retained Forest Heath with a slightly lower majority of 21 out of 27 whereas we were 23. We lost some great Councillors, and as your own vote is being countered you think about not getting elected and not being a Councillor and I know how that feels, not nice. So my heart goes out to them including the two opposition Councillors who were voted out. Sad to see them all go but great to welcome some really great hard working Conservative Candidates as Councillors next week.

Nationally there is lots to do and indeed equally the same locally in the next 4 year term and that starts Monday evening when the Leader James Waters has called a new group meeting to get moving.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

