A Precious Thing

Yesterday morning I got up with my head full of our Suffolk County Council election campaign, I checked my emails, answered a few questions from our candidates and did a little social media, then off to the Campaign office to write letters and stuff envelopes with an old friend and my fellow Councillor on FHDC Nigel and his wife Sandra.  Day ahead to involve delivering our residents survey, some filming with the BBC on the campaign trail and then collating and entering survey results.  All safe in the knowledge that despite the occasional comment on the doorstep, we would be safe and free to do so.  All the time setting out our vision for Suffolk and why ours is better than …insert other political group.

Then came the shocking news and TV pictures in which a terrorist ploughed a car into innocent men, women and children and then, when tackled, fatally stabbed a brave unarmed policeman guarding our MPs and their staff as they debated and voted on our behalf.

It’s at these sad moments that you are reminded that life is a precious thing and so is democracy and there are those out there they do not value either.  For now we are shocked, quietly mourn and have the deepest sympathies for those who have been injured or lost loved ones.  But as we continue to go about our lives, I for one, am reminded that voting and democracy are precious things to be cherished.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

