Deborah Cadman

fullsizeoutput_18c4

Deborah and I with Shaun Whiter at the Suffolk Raising the Bar Awards last night where Shaun spoke of his challenges in life and how he sets himself goals – inspirational stuff.

Today the news will be breaking that Deborah Cadman the Suffolk County Council Chief Executive is leaving us for a new role as Chief Executive of the West Midlands Combined Authority (WMCA).

She told me last week that she was being considered and was offered the job on Friday.  I shall personally be very sad to see her leave but fully understand the exciting challenge and thus reasons for her move.

Deborah has been outstanding, leading our Staff these past 6 years, she steadied the ship when she arrived and has lead the team through major staff reductions and changes in the way they work together and with our partners across Suffolk. Her impact in her time with us cannot be underestimated. Educational attainment levels in Suffolk are now significantly higher, with 86% of schools rated good or outstanding by Ofsted. Over £200 million of essential budget savings have been delivered and staff morale is much higher than when Deborah joined us in 2011.

Today Deborah and I will present to the Cabinet and Senior officer team senior a draft paper which turns our Conservative County election manifesto into corporate priorities, her enthusiasm for this and her vision as we plan with our partners for our great county has been exceptional.  Deborah’s ability to lead partnership working will be something that WMCA will benefit from immensely as it forms its strategies for the long term as well as the short term.

I always knew this day would come.  I know she will not mind me saying that last year I managed to persuade her to remain with us when Government offered her a top job and in part that was because at the time there was the prospect of a Norfolk and Suffolk Combined Authority.  She was as disappointed as I was, that we did not manage to capture the imagination of all the councils in Norfolk to the concept.  So, her move to a Combined Authority that did form!, is no surprise to me.

She is going to the most challenging and exciting job in Local Government.  Andy Street the new Mayor of the WMCA has had a glittering career in Retail as the former CE of John Lewis but is new to the bear pit of politics which is the West Midlands.  I have undertaken work with officers in Birmingham and Sandwell and know some of the areas Leaders that make up the WMCA and if I pondered how complex the Norfolk and Suffolk CA was going to be, it has nothing on the complexity of those Councils working together with a Mayor.

I have known Deborah a long time firstly when she was CE of St. Edmunds Borough Council and in her time as CE of the East Anglian Regional Development Agency.  Funny story is that I was on the original panel who recruited her to the SCC role however for some domestic reason, she was first up and I missed her interview but at the end of the day’s other interviews I voted for her to get the job, she has and is one of this country’s stars of Local Government and blends her considerable operational skills with a deep understanding of the political ‘side of the coin’, as well.

Her personal support of me these past two years as I have started my Leadership role has been brilliant and at a very difficult time for me last summer when my father died in sudden circumstances, I shall long remember her kindness.

Suffolk’s lose is the West Midlands Combined Authority and its new Mayor’s gain.

Deborah is a Brummie and so is returning home, but I know she and Geoff will keep their Suffolk connections where she has forged much of her career and I wish her all the very best.

Deborah will be with us for much of the next three months as we careful plan her exit and together we will make arrangement with our excellent senior officer team, one of whom will cover the CE role as we go out to recruit a new CE.  I know from some of those excellent candidates who I hope will apply that we will have a rich pool of talent to pick our next Chief Executive.

About askcolinnoble
I'm a Conservative politician-lite, I dabble a bit in Party Politics with my main focus of working hard and being a strong voice for my community making sure local government delivers quality services and fellow residents get value for money for their hard earned money they pay in Council tax | Where this Gravatar appears and I am expressing my views or liking something I do so in a personal capacity and does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of Suffolk County Council, Forest Heath District Council, the Conservative Party or come to think of it anyone else | But having said the above at an election time and to stay legal anything I write is promoted by Kerry Buist on behalf of Colin Noble, both at West Suffolk Conservative Association, Unit 8, Swan Lane Business Park, Exning, Newmarket, Suffolk CB8 7FN

Leave a Reply

